Setup · Prop Firm Reference

Prop Firm Rules & Pre-Flight Checklist

A quick visual comparison across every prop firm Christopher trades or tracks, plus a daily pre-flight checklist before the market opens. Figures shown are the 50K-tier headline numbers — always verify current rules against the full reference docs linked at the bottom, since prop firm rules change frequently.

Daily Pre-Flight Checklist

Run through before the open — especially on multi-account days

FOMC / CPI / NFP — News Blackout Rules by Firm

Rules diverge sharply by firm — some fully permit news trading, others carry a hard 1-2 minute blackout window. Know which account is live before a red-folder release

TakeProfitTrader PRO / PRO+

Forbidden 1 minute before, during, and 1 minute after FOMC / CPI / NFP

TopOneFutures

Forbidden only if a position is modified 2 minutes before/during/after — holding through untouched is fine

Apex Trader Funding

  • News-event trading is allowed as part of a normal strategy
  • Prohibited: pure gambling, "chasing the market," or opposing bracket orders placed to luck into a news breakout
  • No hedging — simultaneous long+short on the same/correlated instrument is a standing hard rule, separate from news

Lucid Trading

  • LucidFlex / Pro / Direct: news trading fully allowed — enter/exit freely around major releases, no penalty
  • LucidDaily: trading red-folder (high-impact) news is a hard breach, not allowed on this variant
  • Market risk (slippage/unexpected execution) still applies during news on both platforms regardless of the rule

LegendsTrading

Tier-1 news trading prohibited — accounts may not trade 2 minutes before and 2 minutes after Tier-1 news releases placeholder, pending full legends-rules.md ingestion

Xato

Permitted, subject to normal data/liquidity availability — no explicit news-blackout window like TPT's or TopOne's. Standard equity/prohibited-practice rules still apply; expect wider spreads/slippage/funding swings around news

BTCC (personal account, not an evaluation)

No firm-imposed blackout at all — BTCC isn't a funded-evaluation firm with a rulebook to breach, it's a personal crypto exchange account. Worth keeping in this table anyway, for contrast: the news-blackout windows above are all TOS enforcement specific to prop-firm evaluations, not something inherent to trading through news generally. Normal market risk (volatility/slippage) still applies

Daily Close Deadlines — Know Which Account You're In

Every firm sets an automatic cutoff to protect both the firm and the trader — a safety net, not a trap. Enforcement style differs though: some auto-flatten cleanly, others carry the possibility of account failure if the close coincides with a slippage/gap event. Confirm which bucket today's account is in before assuming the same habit transfers across accounts

FirmClose DeadlineEnforcement
Apex (all paths)~16:59 ETAuto-flatten
TakeProfitTrader16:55 ET auto-closeAuto-closed (soft)
TopOneFutures16:10 ETForce-closed daily
Lucid16:45 ETAuto-flatten (soft)
LegendsTrading15:55 CT (16:55 ET)MOC Liquidation
TradeifyNot specified — verify live—
XatoNone — may hold over weekend~24/7 (crypto)
BTCC (personal, not an eval)None — no firm-imposed closeNo cutoff

TakeProfitTrader updated this policy — previously, holding a position past 17:00 ET was an instant liquidation + failed account; now TPT auto-closes any open position at 16:55 ET and the account simply stays active for the next session. See TPT's rule-update notice ↗

Minimum Trading Activity — Avoid an Inactivity Violation

Distinct from the daily close deadlines above — this is about staying active enough over time, not closing out fast enough on any given day. Firm-sourced, not a rule of thumb

FirmActivity RequirementTimeframePenalty
Lucid Trading$1+ net P/L on a tradeEvery 30 daysPermanent deletion
LegendsTrading~Lucid's structure unconfirmedEvery 30 daysAccount closure
TakeProfitTrader1 round-trip tradeEvery week (Sun–Fri)Closure (exceptions possible)
Apex Trader Funding2 days, $50+ profit eachRolling 30-day windowPermanent closure
TopOneFutures1 trade placedEvery 30 days (14d futures wing)Hard breach

Crucial details, not obvious from the table alone:

  • Apex is the strictest. A single micro-lot trade opened and instantly closed doesn't reset the clock — $50 in net profit has to actually land, across two different days within any rolling 30-day window, or the account closes permanently.
  • Lucid's $1 rule is literal. A $0 scratch trade (open and close at the same price) doesn't count as activity — the trade has to clear at least +$1 or -$1 to register.
  • TopOneFutures' clock starts at purchase, not first trade. The 30-day (14-day for the futures wing) countdown begins the moment the account is bought — sitting on a sale-priced account for a month without placing a single trade breaches it before trading even begins.
Full Rule Reference
Apex — Legacy Rules
Apex — New Rules
Xato trade all markets
stocks, commodities, crypto
TakeProfitTrader
TopOneFutures
Tradeify247
Coming soon — tradeify247.co ↗
Lucid (reference)
Lucid — Flex vs Daily vs Pro
BreakoutProp
Coming soon — breakoutprop.com ↗
Leveraged (crypto, unconfirmed)
Coming soon — getleveraged.com ↗
Progression Plan (original sequencing)
TradeCopia — Chrome Setup Guide
TradeCopia — Risk Toggle Deep Dive
TradeCopia — Compliance Memo
LegendsTrading
Rules ingestion pending — legends-rules.md ↗
Copy-Trading

The short version across every firm on file: copying your own trade decision from one of your own accounts to another is generally fine; mirroring someone else's signals/calls is not. This section goes into the actual operating detail — the full origin story and compliance research live on the dedicated Copy-Trading Plan ↗ page; this is the checklist-ready version for quick reference before trading

TopOneFutures explicitly allows copy trading between your own accounts across firms, as long as the trade decision originates on the TOF account itself — mirroring someone else's signals (Discord/Telegram calls, group trading) is prohibited. See TOF's Copy Trading Policy ↗ and the fuller prohibited-practices list in topone-rules.md ↗

The Full Copy-Trading Plan ↗

Why the two TradeCopia groups are shaped the way they are — the reasoning behind each group choice, condensed for quick reference

Group A — LucidFlex25 leads TPT and LegendsTrading (both 2x). Led from the smaller Lucid account specifically because scaling a small leader size up by a whole-number multiplier always lands on a valid contract count; leading from TPT and scaling down to Lucid's size risked a sub-1-contract, invalid position. In-app group name: "NoNews:TPT&LGNDMaxFund | LFlex=NewsAllowed; Lucid/LGND=NoMBT".

Group B — TOF197288 leads TOF197292, Apex-11, Apex-12, TOF218430, and TOF218431 (all 1x). Every follower is 50K, matching the leader exactly. In-app group name: "TopOneAccessElite*MustLead & ONLYsameTypeTop1Acct can follow".

What the shorthand doesn't fully spell out — must still be honored: TopOneFutures' actual rule (per TOF's own Copy Trading Policy, confirmed by TOF's own AI assistant) is that cross-firm copying is only permitted between accounts of the identical size — the group name above says "same-Top1Acct" / "sameType," which reads more loosely than the real rule. Read it as same size, always, not just "similar" or "same category." A TOF leader can never be paired with a mismatched-size follower, even temporarily, even manually — that's the one rule the compressed name has to be trusted to mean precisely, not casually.

Trading a follower independently, when the plan is to trade through news or otherwise diverge from the leader on purpose: two ways this actually gets done. (1) Toggle that follower's replication to "Off" within the group — TradeCopia's own UI confirms it with a "Manually disabled by user" tooltip, and the account keeps its group membership but stops mirroring until switched back on. (2) The safer version: pull the account out of the group entirely rather than leaving it in and just muting replication — this has been the preferred approach for TPT and LegendsTrading specifically when trading Lucid through news that TPT/Legends themselves can't take. Either way, the Position reconciler will otherwise force-exit any position that doesn't match the leader — see tradecopia-risk-toggle-deep-dive.md ↗ for the full worked examples.

TradeCopia's own live in-app acknowledgment, required before copy-trading — the five rules actually being operated under, not a paraphrase

Permissible Products By Firm

The fallback reference for anything a compressed Copia group name can't fit — what's tradeable where, beyond the group-name fail-safes above

InstrumentNot PermittedPermitted
MBT / MBT1 (Micro Bitcoin futures)Lucid, LegendsTradingTPT, Apex, TopOneFutures

Only one row so far — add more as new product restrictions surface. This exists specifically because a group's compressed in-app name has limited character space; when a restriction doesn't fit there, it lives here instead, not nowhere.

Account Size Tiers — 25K, 50K & 100K

25K is the incoming Lucid free-account size (from the PFM duck-race win); Apex and TPT scale contracts/targets/fees at 100K on top of the 50K headline numbers below. 50K is the comparison/starting point used throughout this page. Full tier detail is filterable by size in the comparison table below

50K Evaluation — Quick Comparison

Apex has three paths on file (Legacy, New EOD, New Intraday) since Christopher's original accounts predate the new rules. Lucid figures shown are the 50K LucidFlex tier for apples-to-apples comparison — the account actually held is LucidFlex25 (25K)

Reset Economics

Cost-of-staying-in numbers, for the accounts Christopher actually runs

TakeProfitTrader: a reset costs $649, capped at 3 resets total. Pricier than starting a fresh instant-funded account elsewhere once you're past reset #1-2 — but Christopher values staying with TPT despite the account-count ceiling, so a reset is still the default move over starting over cold.

Apex Legacy renewal nuance: renewing a Legacy account rolls existing profits into the next 30-day cycle rather than zeroing them out. New Apex products (EOD/Intraday) don't carry this — missing the 30-day profit target on those simply fails the account, no renewal-with-profits-intact option

Crypto Exchange Execution Mechanics — Multi-Broker TradingView Notes

As of Sep 2026, BTCC and crypto.com perpetuals/spot are tradable directly from TradingView, and Coinbase's live balance is visible too — but each exchange's TradingView execution panel exposes different settings than the others, and different from Tradovate's TradFi-futures panel. Notes from live testing (1x and 5x leverage, both directions) so the differences don't have to be re-discovered each time

SettingBTCCCrypto.comCoinbaseTradovate (TradFi Futures)
Margin type shown Not exposed in TradingView's panel — isolated margin is newly available natively on BTCC (didn't exist when Christopher first started there), but TradingView doesn't surface the cross/isolated toggle for BTCC specifically Cross / Isolated / None — shown directly No leverage/margin concept shown at all N/A — futures margin works differently (per-contract, not a leverage slider)
Position sizing method Slider with 4 modes — see breakdown below. Cannot change leverage while already in a trade Direct quantity entry (like BTCC's own native app) Direct quantity entry Direct contract-count entry
Order types Market, Limit, Stop Market, Limit, Stop, Stop-Limit Market, Limit, Stop Market, Limit, Stop
Post-only Not available Available Available —
Time-in-force Good Til Cancel only option — dropdown greyed out Good Til Cancelled (default), Immediate or Cancel, Fill or Kill Good Till Cancelled (default), Good Till Time, Immediate or Cancel —
TP/SL bracket display Shows the actual $ P&L the bracket represents Not yet compared Not yet compared Only shows "buy/sell limit" — no computed P&L preview on the bracket itself

One more BTCC quirk worth remembering: TP/SL orders placed manually inside BTCC's own native app show up in a different menu than TP/SL brackets placed through TradingView's execution panel — same account, two places to check depending on which surface you set the bracket from.

BTCC's 4 TradingView Position-Sizing Modes

USDT Margin — order size entered as a cash (USDT) equivalent

% Balance — order size entered as a percentage of account equity

Risk | USDT — order size derived from a dollar risk amount against the current stop-loss price; moving either the risk amount or the SL price recalculates quantity automatically

Risk | % Balance — same as above, but the risk input is a percentage of equity instead of a dollar amount

The Risk-based modes are the closest crypto equivalent to the WASL-style position sizing already used on the futures side (risk defined in position sizing up front, not a mental stop) — see pattern_tracker.md's trading-style note for the fuller framework this slots into. Practice so far: size via Risk | %Balance, always set a real TP (letting winners run has produced larger losers in hindsight more often than it's paid off), don't run with a mental-only stop.

One setting easy to confuse across platforms: the slot where TradFi futures and crypto.com show "SL enables quantity in risk" (link stop-loss distance to position sizing) is occupied on Coinbase by an unrelated toggle, "show order confirmation" — same panel position, completely different function. Worth a second look before assuming it's the same setting by muscle memory.

Full Spec Cards — Lucid, Apex, TPT & TopOneFutures

Filterable across firm, size, and eval-vs-funded phase — the same shape as gallery.html's Account Ledger table, instead of clicking through one firm-branded card at a time. Lucid figures transcribed from their own pricing pages, LucidFlex25 (25K Flex) is the account actually held — full comparison: lucid-account-types-comparison.md ↗. Apex/TPT digitized from their pricing-page screenshots — Apex's TradingView/Tradovate/Browser/Mobile/Mac compatibility, Tradovate License, NinjaTrader Platform ($75 value), and Real-Time Data Fees ($55 value) are identical across all three Apex tiers below, omitted from the table to keep it scannable. TopOneFutures Elite ACCESS is the two funded accounts actually held (TOF197288/292) — figures from topone-rules.md ↗

50K Evaluation — Quick Comparison

Apex has three paths on file (Legacy, New EOD, New Intraday) since Christopher's original accounts predate the new rules. Lucid figures shown are the 50K LucidFlex tier for apples-to-apples comparison — the account actually held is LucidFlex25 (25K)

Firm / PathProfit TargetMax DrawdownDaily Loss Limit Min Trading DaysConsistency (Eval)Max ContractsTime Limit
Apex — Legacy (Christopher's current) $3,000$2,500 trailingNone 7 daysNot applied10Unlimited (sub)
Apex — New EOD $3,000$2,000 EOD$1,000 NoneNot applied630 days
Apex — New Intraday $3,000$2,000 trailingNone NoneNot applied630 days
TakeProfitTrader $3,000$2,000 EOD trailingRemoved (all plans) 5 days50%6 (60 micros)No limit while the subscription renews — canceling lets the current period expire and permanently disables the account
TopOneFutures — Elite ACCESS $3,000 (6%)$2,000 EOD trailingNone (eval) 1 profitable dayNot applied—30 days
Lucid — LucidDaily (50K tier shown; account held is LucidFlex25) $3,000$2,000 EOD trailingNone (eval) Not specified — verify live50%4 (40 micros)No limit
Lucid — LucidFlex (50K tier shown; actual account is 25K) $3,000$2,000 EOD trailingNone (eval) Not specified — verify live50%4 (40 micros)No limit
Lucid — LucidPro (50K tier shown) $3,000$2,000 EOD trailingNone (eval) Not specified — verify live50%4 (40 micros)No limit
Tradeify — Select Challenge $3,000$2,000 EOD$1,250 None (3-day eval)35%4—
Tradeify — Growth (placeholder) Not specified — verify liveNot specified — verify liveNot specified — verify live Not specified — verify liveNot specified — verify liveNot specified — verify liveNot specified — verify live
TakeProfitTrader 5pm close-rule update notice